Sportsing.

I hate watching sports.  Okay, I take that back.  I hate watching most sports.  During the Olympics, I am glued to the TV, and I watched the Bulls when they DIDN’T suck.  Outside of that, I hate watching sports.

Here’s something.  Guys watch sports together to “bond.”   They spend time together, they yell at the TV, and then they go their separate ways.   I think that this is ridiculous.  Share some feelings. Talk to each other without a distracting competition, for crying out loud.  Seriously, it isn’t that hard.

I went to the gym tonight.  I know, I was shocked too.  While elipticizing, I watched America’s Next Top Model. I  like to think that I watch this show, primarily, to mock it, but in reality, it brings me back to my sophomore year of college, when  my roommates and I would watch it together.  Every Wednesday night, religiously, we would gather around the television for an hour, and we would watch the skinny girls compete.  Sort of like sports. (Minus the skinny girls.  Unless of course, you count cheerleaders, which I don’t.)

Nowadays, college is over, but now, every Monday night, I gather with a group of females, (sisters, roommates, neighbors) to eat massive amounts of food and watch The Bachelor.  We can’t stop ourselves.  This night is partially about the actual show, but really, it’s about spending time together, yelling at the television.  We root for some, hate others, and in the end, there are winners, and there are losers.

Kind of like sports.

Make the basket.  Get the rose.

So much for being special, girls.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sportsing.

  1. Alyssa says:

    Ellipticizing… do you remember the first time you said that word to me? I believe we were in market drafting our CWC essays for the final (aka boy-watching)… I believe your question that followed had something to do with what ‘Swedicizing’ looked like! 🙂
    More to the point, I miss ANTM night with you all – it’s just depressing to watch it alone!

  2. Alyssa Kay, I miss you like crazy! Gosh we had good times in market. Nothing productive, but the people watching was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

