Happy Christmas (War is Over)

It’s Christmas time.   Today is the first day in a number of days that I have felt whole.  I’m not going to get into the specifics and exacts of why that is.  All I can say is that sometimes God needs to get you to a place where you are so frustrated with life that you feel like maybe, just maybe, you have screwed everything up so far beyond repair that there is no light at the end of this tunnel.  (Cheery Christmas Eve post, huh?)

The thing is, it is these times of darkness and frustration and even (at times) anger at God, that He moves the most, and He does it in ways that have absolutely nothing to do with who I am or how loving I want to be or anything that is in my power at all.  Sometimes God likes to show up once I have exhausted every other option, and have screwed everything up.  And then, there He is.  Assuring me that He always had it under His own control, anyway.

There is no story that will ever remain incomplete.  Sometimes the play just has a longer intermission.

I suppose that this is what Christmas is all about, anyway.  Us not being able to fix things ourselves, and Jesus coming down as a tiny little baby so that someday, He could right things for us.

Merry Christmas, everyone.  My hope and prayer for you today is that you are surrounded by people that you love, and that you get to bless someone you might not usually come in contact with.  And also, that at some point today, you get to enjoy a really killer cup of coffee.  I’m on cup #2.  Mmm.

And if, for some odd reason, you are still not in the Christmas spirit, take a listen to the (in my opinion) best line-up of Christmas music ever:

The Winter Song (Eisley)

The Christmas Song (The Ravonettes)

Blue Christmas (Bright Eyes… because sometime I still love that whiney voice.)

Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) (Death Cab for Cutie)

Boots (The Killers)

Christmas Wrapping (The Waitresses)

Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing (Sufjan Stevens)

Last Christmas (Jimmy Eat World)

All I Want For Christmas (Mariah Carey…. I had to.)

Happy Xmas (War is Over) (John Lennon)

Consider this my musical ADD gift to all of you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

