And now for something completely different.

 I’m  not a songwriter.  I’m not one of those people who sits around writing angsty songs.  I roll my eyes in an ‘I am way too cool for this’ disgust.  I am definitely not a songwriter.

But if Iwere a songwriter, this is probably what I’d write:

************************************************************

If someday you come back out,

From that shelter you’ve been hiding in,

Look me up, you’ll know where to find me. 

I’ll be where you left me, and then a little further. 

Don’t hesitate to call.

I’ll grow some wings while I wait.

************************************************************

My heart keeps asking me why you’re not around.

I never know what to say.

 It won’t understand my reasoning,  anyways.

  I tried.  It’s cold these days.

And I already tried.

 But you kept telling me to write this down.

************************************************************

It’s hard to believe that there is something so much bigger than you or I,

Something that could keep apart two magnetic souls.

Some days I have a hard time wanting it to be as true as it is.

But you know I tried.

I already tried.

And I’m writing it down.

************************************************************

But if someday you come back out,

from that shelter you’ve been hiding in,

Look me up, you’ll know where to find me. 

I’l be where you left me, and then a little farther. 

Don’t hesitate to call.

I’ll grow some wings while I wait.

************************************************************

I hope someday you’re happy. 

That you figure out some truth.

I know that I can’t save you now.

Believe me.

I tried.

I’ve already tried.

************************************************************

Each goodbye is always the last,

I’ll just keep walking towards the son. 

I missed the color of your eyes for years,

so now it will just take me a little while.

I can’t find the right words to say goodbye. 

I already tried.

So I’m writing them down.

************************************************************

But if someday you come back out,

From that shelter you’ve been hiding in,

Look me up, you’ll know where to find me. 

I’ll be where you left me, and then a little further. 

Don’t hesitate to call.

I’ll grow some wings while I wait.

************************************************************

Don’t you worry.

************************************************************

You know I’ll get by.

************************************************************

I already tried.

This entry was posted in Thoughts and Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

